Tags

, , , , , ,

An Interview with Julie Barnson, author of ‘Go Gentle’ in Beyond the Wail, plus a ‘just for fun’ list!

Julie_Barnson

How did you come up with the concept of your story?
I was thinking about the song The Devil Went Down to Georgia.  I had just heard other stories like it, and randomly googled fiddle folklore. I learned some really awesome things, and I decided to use what I learned in a story.

What is your preferred writing genre?
I love ghost stories.

Who is your favorite author?
Neil Gaiman

When did you know you wanted to be a writer?  
When I was in third grade.  Then I became an adult and decided that I didn’t have anything to say.  Recently my children have been growing up and leaving home, and I’m starting to realize that maybe third grade me had the right idea.

Given unlimited resources, what would be your ideal writing environment?  
A lovely custom office at home that didn’t have access to the internet so I couldn’t distract myself with Facebook.

What is your writing drive? The power that keeps you going when your writing gets difficult?
I don’t know yet.  I’m still discovering me as an author.

How does writing impact other parts of your life?  
I’m a professional storyteller, and I’m hoping to use writing to tie in to some of my performances and to define who I am as a storyteller of the oral AND the written word combined.

What activities best give your brain a break?
I’m a solitaire addict.  This is actually a bad thing, because I play solitaire on the computer.  If I lose a game, It could be awhile before I can get back to writing, because I have to play again.

What are some of your other published works?
I have a CD that I self published, and have stories in two other cd’s that were produced by the Utah Storytelling Guild.  Beyond that and a few contributing recipes in local recipe books, this is my first foray into the publishing world.

What is your advice to writers?
I don’t have any advice to writers, except to keep doing what you love.  To aspiring writers, be courageous and bold and just do it.

What’s up next for you?
I’m putting together an anthology of Victorian ghost stories.  I have been learning to tell them for shows, and I want to put all of my favorites into one place.

What is your favorite snack while writing?
Diet coke

If you had three wishes, what would they be?
Oh no, I’m not falling for THAT trap.  There’s always a catch when you make wishes in the ghost stories and horror novels.  Monkey’s Paw, anyone?

Is there anything else you’d like your readers to know about you?  
I love to play dress up, but not as any particular character, so I’m not really a cosplayer, more a costumer.  I ADORE Halloween.  It’s my favorite holiday. I love to cook.


Julie’s Just for fun nerd list:
Star Wars or Star Trek? Star Wars
Hunger Games or Divergent? Hunger Games.
James Bond or Jack Ryan? Jack Ryan
Sherlock: Robert Downey, Jr. or Benedict Cumberbatch? Benedict Cumberbatch, absolutely
Spock: Leonard Nimoy or Zachary Quinto? Leonard Nimoy
X-Men or Avengers? Avengers
Aliens or Predators? Aliens
Minions or Penguins? Neither
Batman or Superman? Batman
Harry Potter or Pirates of the Caribbean? Yes.


BEYOND_THE_WAIL

What is it about fear and the unknown that pulls so passionately at the human heart? Perhaps we are drawn not to the darkness itself, but to the resolution, the overcoming of what we most deeply dread. After all, the more terrible the struggle, the greater the victory when it comes at last. Presented in this anthology are twelve remarkable stories of the darkness that overshadows us, and the resolution that may be found beyond them. They are stories of fear and oppression, but ultimately stories of hope, stories that will take you BEYOND THE WAIL.

GO GENTLE by Julie Barnson: After the death of her boyfriend, a young musician uses her talents and a fabled violin to stop the fatal accidents at a dead man’s curve.
Blog: Tales by Julie
Twitter: @JulieBarnson1

Available on Amazon >>>

