Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Essence_ElaLourenco_PostCard

The Birth of Essence
Ela Lourenco

Once I had finally decided to take the plunge and write my own novel there was never any doubt that it would belong in the fantasy/paranormal genre as they have always been my own favourite reads. And the truth is that I have a ‘crazy’ imagination (direct quote form one of my old school reports!) and love thinking outside of the box so it came as no surprise to those who know me when I first cooked up the idea for Essence.

One of the questions I get asked the most is ‘How did you come up with the idea for Essence’? And if I am to be completely honest I will have to admit that it all started with Katra – my idea of the ‘perfect’ heroine; a young woman who had strength and vulnerability in equal measures, a serious nature alongside a wicked sense of humour… Once she took root in my mind, I wanted to write about Katra and her quest. And, as cliché as it sounds, the story did pretty much write itself. I would wake up every morning excited to get writing and see where the story would go next, and what new obstacles would line Katra’s path toward her destiny.

I think my husband got tired of asking me what was going to happen next in the story only to be told ‘I don’t know, it hasn’t happened yet.’ Now, don’t get me wrong, there was a lot of planning involved in writing Katra’s story in terms of the different supernatural races and histories and creating new worlds… But in terms of the actual plot, well, I just let the characters guide me through their lives and adventures – they all became very much real to me and sometimes led me in directions I hadn’t even considered.

Every writer has their own method of writing and planning and of getting inspiration but for me it always starts with a basic idea and a three dimensional character, everything else is built up on that foundation and revolves around it. I didn’t just write the story, I lived it.


top-logoRafflecopter Giveaway:

Sirens Call Publications will be giving away 5 (five) digital copies of ‘Essence’ by Ela Lourenco to 5 (five) lucky winners! Follow the link to enter for your chance to win!

 Win 1 of 5(five) copies of Essence by Ela Lourenco


Essence
Ela Lourenco

Essence_ElaLourenco_cover_sampleKatra is a Fae Hunter in a world once ravaged by a terrible war. Having lost all memory of her childhood and rightful identity, her duty is now to protect the tentative peace brokered by the varying races of the supernatural world. When an evil darkness begins to spread, draining young witches of their power, Katra must find a way back to her true past in order to save the future.

Enduring many trials as ever-increasing powers awaken within her, Katra must also struggle with the mixed emotions her new partner, Blade – a Black Dragon – is rousing within her. Together they must battle the shadows that plan to devour the world they know and prevent its decent into another thousand-year war.

Can Katra hold onto her strength as the truth of her very being begins to unravel? Can she bear the weight that ancient prophecy has placed on her young shoulders? Or is her destiny to regain her true self, only to lose the world she is sworn to protect?

Available on:

Amazon: US | UK | Canada | Australia | Germany | Italy | Spain | France | Japan |India | Brazil | Mexico

CreateSpace | Smashwords | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes


ElaLourenco_PhotoABOUT THE AUTHOR: Ela Lourenco lives in sunny Scotland with her two daughters and husband. She has a passion for reading and all things supernatural, particularly where there is a whodunit involved! Ela can often be found in the kitchen baking yet another cake as she ponders her next story. Follow her on these social Media sites:

Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads


