Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

DuskAndSummer_JosephAPinto_PostCardPerseverance
Joseph A. Pinto

Perseverance, more than anything else, has been my biggest attribute as a writer.

Drive, determination, perseverance… I suppose all those traits are interchangeable, but each on its own is a difficult thing to master. Life gets in the way for everyone at times. How you respond to those roadblocks is what matters.

My passion for writing started when I was a kid. I used to sneak novels off my father’s bookshelf, and it opened a whole new world to me – I fell instantly in love. I had to have a book in hand at all times, and it wasn’t long before I attempted to emulate the books that I enjoyed so much.

I wrote short stories back then; for my eyes only, of course. I never dreamt of sharing my writing with anyone else. Sure, I loved to write, but I also realized doing so left me vulnerable and exposed to criticism. Nevertheless, the fire to become a fulltime successful writer grew.

Life gets in the way. I went to work in my family business soon after high school. The long hours I put in shelved my dream, or so I told myself. The few short stories I managed to write only made my heart ache more for something I thought I’d never be able to achieve. Every time I walked into a bookstore, I felt a desperate tug on my soul. Eventually, I started my own business. By then, whatever free time I had was completely consumed.

Some journeys are just meant to take longer than others. After so many years of making excuses and fretting that time had passed me by, I decided to challenge myself: if I could sit down and write a book, then my dream deserved to be pursued. If not, I’d let it go. In 2005, I wrote my first horror novel by hand, and in the process, broke through the barriers that had held me back for so long.

I can tell you from experience that a writer can find a hundred excuses to hide behind, and a hundred more to avoid trying; whether it’s fear of rejection, public criticism, or just the insecurity of failing oneself, it can be crippling. But in my case, I needed to grow comfortable in my own skin, to learn who I was as a person and embrace it before I could try. The funny thing is, none of that has to do with writing. All of it has to do with my own confidence. I look at it this way: you can’t truly sing without soul, if you try, the notes sound flat, and I think the same holds true for writing.

Drive, determination, perseverance… Life gets in the way. It doesn’t matter how long it takes you to climb the mountain; it matters that you keep the flames stoked within. Eventually, you’ll conquer it, and it won’t be long until you’re eying the apex of the next.


Dusk and Summer

DuskAndSummer_JosephAPinto_FrontCover_LargeDoes Heaven await beneath the waves? One man needs to know.

When his dying father whispers a cryptic message to him, he has no choice but to summon his courage and begin the quest of a lifetime. It’s a race against time to realize his father’s wish and fulfill his own destiny; it’s a discovery of the unbreakable bond between father and son. It’s a journey of the heart that unfolds where only the Chosen exist – in the moments between Dusk and Summer.

“A poignant, metaphoric conversation between son and father. A story that will warm your heart.”
–Yvonne S. Thornton, M.D., bestselling author of The Ditchdigger’s Daughters

The author will be donating a portion of the proceeds from this book to the Lustgarten Foundation for Pancreatic Cancer Research.

Lustgarten

Dusk and Summer is available at:

Amazon: US |UK | Canada | Australia | Germany | France | Spain | Italy | Japan | Mexico | India | Brazil
CreateSpace | Smashwords
Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes (Apple)


JosephAPinto_HeadShot_Large

About Joseph A. Pinto:

Joseph A. Pinto is the horror author of two published books and numerous short stories; he is a member of the Horror Writers Association as well the founder of Pen of the Damned, a collective of angst and horror driven writers. Indulge in his unique voice on his personal blog josephpinto.com and PenofTheDamned.com. You can follow him on Twitter @JosephAPinto. Joseph hails from New Jersey where he lives with his wife and young daughter.

Twitter | Facebook | Blog | Goodreads


ENTER TO WIN A FREE E-BOOK!!

top-logo

Sirens Call Publications will be giving away 5 (five) digital copies of Dusk and Summer by Joseph A. Pinto to 5 (five) lucky winners! Follow the link to enter for your chance to win!

Win 1 of 5 (five) copies of Dusk and Summer by Joseph A. Pinto!

