Tags

, , , , , ,

Welcome to Coffin Hop 2013, and welcome guest author Hunter Shea!

A few words from Hunter….

HunterSheaWe need a presidential candidate that pledges to extend the Halloween season to two months…minimum. The month of October, culminating in one last gasp on Halloween just isn’t enough for me. Thirty-one days to get in the reading I’ve been stockpiling all year, watching at least one horror flick a night, attending horror cons and writing horror novels goes by way too fast. And don’t forget all that pumpkin beer. Mmmmm, pumpkin.

I saw in the recent issue of Horrorhound a list of 31 zombie themed movies to watch over the course of the month. The list is kick ass, but I’d hate to pigeonhole myself into just one subgenre. Last year, I started keeping track of the movies I watch in October (or what I call Horrortober), tweeting them out with a rating system of 1 to 9 tana leaves. If you’re a fan of the Mummy, you know where I’m coming from.

Now, I’m not going to pressure you to watch 31 horror movies. I reserve that for head-cases like myself. However, I do want you to get the most of your Horrortober viewing, so here are some grade-A flicks that most people fail to seek out, stopping short at the Friday the 13th/Halloween aisle. Check them out when the lights are dimmed and the children of the night begin to wail: The Funhouse, Rosemary’s Baby, REC, The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari, Motel Hell, Spider Baby, The Fog, The Thing, Rites of Spring, Children Shouldn’t Play With Dead Things, Home Movie, Pumpkinhead, The Innkeepers, Day of the Triffids, 28 Weeks Later, Grace and, last but not least, Them.

Happy viewing. Hey, what’s that sound in the kitchen? Probably just the cat. Right?


AsylumScrawls_HunterSheaAsylum Scrawls
by Hunter Shea

Demonic possession, serial killers, monsters, beasts, the insane and the damned – they’re all here, safely tucked behind the bars of the asylum. These seven tales of the macabre and bizarre are sure to haunt you until the icy fingers of the grave claim you for eternity.

Available on Amazon

A short bio about Hunter:

I’m the product of a childhood weened on The Night Stalker, The Twilight Zone and In Search Of. I don’t just write about the paranormal. I actively seek out the things that scare the hell out of people and experience them for myself.

My novels, Forest of Shadows, Evil Eternal , Swamp Monster Massacre and Sinister Entity are published through  Samhain Publishing’s horror line.  I live with my family and untrainable cat close enough to New York City to get Gray’s Papaya hotdogs when the craving hits.

I’m also proud to be be one half of the Monster Men video podcast, along with my partner in crime, Jack Campisi. Our show is a light hearted approach to dark subjects. We explore real life hauntings, monsters, movies, books and everything under the horror sun.

Feel free to contact me any time at huntershea1@gmail.com. Writing is lonely work.


The Goods man, gimme the goods!
 
Okay darlings, here is how you go about winning a Coffin Hop goodie on this blog: Leave a comment on any or all of the posts that are tagged ‘Coffin Hop 2013’ and at the end of the Hop, I’ll randomly pick 5 overall winners and let them choose whichever e-book they’d like from the sixteen that are being featured and happily buy them a copy. Its that easy! And don’t forget to show some luv for these fine authors by tweeting, sharing on Facebook, Google, WordPress, or anywhere else you may roam!

Don’t forget to visit the other blogs I’m a part of:
Sotet Angyal – The Dark Angel…
Spreading the Writer’s Word
The Sirens Song
Pen of the Damned

and all the other amazing hoppers on the Coffin Hop list!

