Tags

, , , , , ,

Welcome to Coffin Hop 2013, and welcome guest author Eric Garrison!

A few words from Eric….

EricGarrisonFour ’til Late was the first novel I wrote, but is the most recent I’ve published. I learned more writing it than any other novel. It’s been through many changes and revisions and edits over the years since then.  My 5th novel, Reality Check, was published first, early in 2013, before Seventh Star Press picked up my Road Ghosts series, including Four ’til Late.

One thing I learned is that characters don’t do what you expect them to do. This is mostly okay, since I “pantsed” this novel, having only a few characters, a situation, and an ending in mind when I began. Even though the plot follows the straight lines of the highways, the characters took many turns that I didn’t plan, and surprised me by taking on a life of their own.

I also learned about pacing. I’m often told that Four ’til Late is a fast-paced read that’s hard to put down. I love hearing that, it means I’ve done my job in creating an entertaining story that pulls the reader along for the ride. I think the reason for that is I wrote each chapter with a bit of suspense at the end. Each chapter is a little story on its own, all those stories touching off the next one in succession.

I’ve argued about what genre best fits Four ’til Late and the other books in that series. I didn’t set out to write horror, despite having ghosts and demonic possession as central elements. Even though I thought of it as an urban fantasy, other writers convinced me I’d written horror whether I realized it or not. Suspense is the main reason my Road Ghosts books have one foot in the horror genre, despite a lack of splatter factor. I try to keep the reader guessing, and keep the characters off balance. I think it’s the feeling of not knowing what’s around the next bend that gives the story its horror edge.


Four ’til Late
by Eric Garrison

FoutTillLate_EricGarrisonIn Four ‘Til Late, amateur ghost hunter Brett and his friends Gonzo, Jimbo, and Liz are on a road trip with dangerous detours, dreadful dreams and dire warnings. But that won’t keep them from reaching their goal: New Orleans. Along the way they discover that some spirits leave you with more than a hangover and regrets. Can they get there in one piece, or will they be stopped and rest in peace? The bags are packed, the engine’s running. Turn up the radio and get moving because the road ghosts are waiting, and it’s Four ‘Til Late.

Four ‘Til Late is the first book of the Road Ghosts Trilogy.

Available on Amazon


The Goods man, gimme the goods!
 
Okay darlings, here is how you go about winning a Coffin Hop goodie on this blog: Leave a comment on any or all of the posts that are tagged ‘Coffin Hop 2013’ and at the end of the Hop, I’ll randomly pick 5 overall winners and let them choose whichever e-book they’d like from the sixteen that are being featured and happily buy them a copy. Its that easy! And don’t forget to show some luv for these fine authors by tweeting, sharing on Facebook, Google, WordPress, or anywhere else you may roam!

Don’t forget to visit the other blogs I’m a part of:
Sotet Angyal – The Dark Angel…
Spreading the Writer’s Word
The Sirens Song
Pen of the Damned

and all the other amazing hoppers on the Coffin Hop list!

