Tags

, , , , , , , ,

d.k.snape is the author of the newly released first installment of the Moustache on the Moon serial, Kin Ship.

MOTM_KinShip_FINAL_front_coverWe believe in life on other planets. We believe they visit us from time to time. What if life also evolves in the vast empty space between galaxies, among the very stars themselves? What would it look like? What would you do if it showed up in our skies?

Marnie is your average teenager. She goes to school every day, hangs out with her friends, and tries to stay out of trouble. One morning, while suffering through another boring class, her world is turned upside down when two intergalactic strangers come to collect her.

And it’s not just Marnie’s world, but her whole family’s too. It seems that random kids and their moms and dads have also been scooped up and taken to the hidden mountain valley far from their homes. No one knows why they’ve been selected or what’s really going on…

Where to purchase Kin Ship:
Amazon: US, UK, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Japan, Brazil, India
Smashwords, CreateSpace

Words from the author:

Birth of the Beigorri

I don’t know exactly when I decided there must be life on other planets. Maybe it came during my years of reading fairy tales; all the different creatures described who somehow dwelled here on Earth, invisible unless you surprised one of them, like the legend of catching a leprechaun and forcing it to tell you where he’d hidden his pot of gold. The authors described them so vividly, so lovingly. As if they’d seen the creatures often.

I do remember wanting to meet one of those dainty creatures. I didn’t care which. A fairy queen with her sunshine wand, a gnome living under his toadstool, a pixie skipping over flower petals, any one of them. Yes, fairy tales brought those creatures to life. Tolkien fleshed them out into a more solid form, more believable to my older self.

Andre Norton’s Witch World series, my first foray into alternate world fiction, enthralled me. Anne McCaffrey’s Pern stories called to me, I dreamed about living on Marion Zimmer Bradley’s Darkover. So many books came out with new worlds filled with Earthlings.

I don’t remember the first story I read about aliens. I know the story had them arriving on Earth. They wanted something from us, but I don’t recall if our soldiers fought or our governments traded with them

Maybe seeing that first space fight on our old black and white television, that first monumental step on the moon, after years of reading about alternate world fiction solidified my belief that life had to exist on other planets. If we made it off our planet I became sure other species on planets we’d never heard of were also blasting off from their planet, hunting for us just as we looked for them.

We got our own telescope around the time of the moon walk. I’d peer up at the dark sky, staring at stars, wondering if that sun had a planet with beings building their own space ships, excited about leaving their home planet and sailing through space.

One night I managed to see a falling star through the telescope and tracked it. It mustn’t have been traveling very fast or it was at the edge of our atmosphere. I watched it for minutes, imagining it to be an alien space ship, its fiery trail across our skies really engines firing, not just asteroid burn-up. I crossed my fingers, hoping against hope that the poor little space ship might land, right here on Earth. Their ambassador would step out and offer undying friendship. Maybe even a helping hand into the vastness of space itself.

Didn’t happen, did it?

Must have been about then I picked up Glen Cook’s Starfisher series. There I first discovered intelligent aliens who didn’t have a planet. Those critters had been born or hatched in space itself. That’s where they lived. And swam or floated.

I latched onto that idea. I wanted beasties in space, swimming between the stars. It appealed to me so strongly I started to create castles in the sky, between the suns and populated them with creatures that didn’t need space suits. Those that could explore forever.

And so, many years ago, in a shadowy, half thought out way, the Beigorri were born. They didn’t bear that name yet. And they couldn’t open wormholes.

I wanted those creatures I imagined to visit us here on Earth. To take some of us away out into the farthest reaches of space. I wanted to be a space explorer so badly.

And that my friends, is the story of how, once upon a time, the Beigorri started its trip through my imagination, evolving to its present state of Kin Ship, part one of Moustache on the Moon. With their alien passengers, the Euskadaz aboard, they travel through space, exploring, searching for new worlds that human-type beings can be ferried to in order to set up new civilizations.

About d.k.snape:

dksnapeI grew up in a small town just north of Toronto. I always had a vivid imagination. Ask my mother. It’s not that I don’t like to tell the truth. But isn’t the world a brighter place when fairies and aliens populate the local neighborhood? Being an intelligent, non-girlie girl, I didn’t fit in well with my peers. Instead I found books! I read everything I got my hands on. And I mean everything. I contracted some ugly balance-affecting disease at twelve. Stuck in bed for months, my family and neighbours rallied, bringing me books of all kinds once I finished the encyclopedia and dictionary, cover to cover. They just wanted me happy. And quiet. But boredom struck. You can’t just read all the time, I tried copying some of my favorite stories, embellishing them as I saw fit. And one day, I wrote one of my own, all by myself. Personally thought I’d done a good job. When it didn’t receive rave reviews from my family, I decided to try harder, not give up and leave it to the experts like my parents wanted. I’m finally ready for the world to decide.

