Tags

, , , , , , ,

What Do I Desire?

It is usually quite late when I find myself lost in thought. Sometimes I have been listening to music, or writing. Sometimes I think it is the quiet house,  coupled with the weariness from a busy day, which fills me at once with fatigue and a sense of dislocation, like I am not quite myself, or at least have a sense of something else. However I have found myself here tonight, I want to take a moment to share a video, narrated by Alan Watts, which I have found very affecting.

I don’t know if it is growing up that has made me begin to realise the importance of being who you want to be. It might be personal development, specific to me and my own experiences. It certainly feels like I am alone in feeling this way sometimes. I suspect, however, that an awful lot of people might empathise with me, if they actually listen, take a step back, and consider the question posed in the video. If it is not growing older, then it is experiencing more of the world and the way that it seems to work that drives this point home. I could go on, except the video above does a wonderful job of expressing what it is I am trying to say.

If there was ever a dream, a love, ‘an itch’, as Alan describes it, hold on to it, take a chance on it, partake in it for the pleasure of partaking. Yes, we need day jobs and wages, but we needs dreams too, desires, and these should be treasured without worry, because these are the things that will make everything else all right, and give our lives meaning, and define us as people in a world where there are so many people without definition.

Reblogged from Thomas Brown’s Blog.

