Tags

, , , , , , , ,

In honor of Coffin Hop 2012, I’m hosting a guest post from Horror Author and Pen of the Damned member Blaze McRob, who has graciously offered to give away a free print copy of the novel Birthright by Sue Mydliak to one lucky winner! Details are at the bottom ;}

So, the question is: Why am I a horror author?

I write the truth, and horror is the embodiment of what is real. Good can be a distortion of evil presented in such a manner that it appears to be otherwise. There is no such distortion with horror. Evil is evil, plain and simple.

There is much more evil than good in the world. Just look around you. It’s obvious. Children are starving and homeless, while fat-cats line their Judas pockets with pieces of silver. I see; I observe; and I write about it. Sure, my stories are embellished, but they are still true.

I write what I know. Physical pain and mental anguish are a part of who I am. Expelling the bad from within my soul leaves room for the good to dwell there. But alas, that happy ending never quite seems to come, so I dwell in the Dark and tell the story of the under-dog. The deep recesses of the mind and soul must express themselves. The pain, torture, unfaithfulness, and anger I find there must be expressed and shared with others. It’s not a matter of “me.” I’m not the only one who experiences these things. This is a “we” collaboration.

Let’s cut the crap and admit that humans don’t play well with each other. They never will. Does this mean I’m a pessimist? No, I’m merely a realist. Writing allows me to tell others they are not alone and sometimes people can conquer evil and rise above the horrors surrounding them.

This is me. It is what I do. It is what I must do.

***

Birthright by Sue Midliak

Birthright is a novel that opens the door on family secrets. Both Kane and Candra are locked into a shared past neither of them can escape. Evil is everywhere, waiting to pounce. Candra must decide who is a friend and find out what her birthright really is. When everything in your life is lost, whom can you trust, and who will be there to pick up the pieces and help you put them back together, your family or a stranger?

WIN A FREE COPY!

Blaze has graciously offered to donate a print copy of Birthright by Sue Mydliak in honor of Coffin Hop to one winner who comments on this post. That’s all you need to do, just leave a comment below – even if it’s just to say Hey!

Please don’t forget to visit the Coffin Hop 2012 Blog,
or the blog page here for bloggers & THE GORY DETAILS!
(Those would be the rules 🙂

